Rochester Nano Optics










Optics for Kids

7th Nano-Optics Adirondacks Workshop Oct.21- 24, 2010

The Nanooptics group hosted their seventh workshop in the Adirondacks to discuss the current state, latest accomplishments, and future directions of nano-optics. This year, the current Rochester Nanooptics group was joined by all five alumni, who have received their PhD so far.

Invited speakers
Prof. Taco Visser, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands

Prof. Scott Carney, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (IL)

Prof. Jorge Zurita-Sanchez, Instituto Nacional de Astrofisica Optica y Electronica, Puebla, Mexico

Prof. Luis Gustavo Cancado, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Dr. Christiane Hoeppener, Wilhelms-University Muenster, Muenster, Germany

Dr. Stefano Palomba, University of California, Berkeley (CA)

Dr. Michael Beversluis, BAE Systems, Alexandria (VA)

Dr. Neil Anderson, Semrock, Rochester (NY)

Dr. John Lesoine, NIST, Gaithersburg (MD)

Dr. Giovanni Volpe, Max Planck Institute für Metallforschung, Stuttgart, Germany

Jan Gieseler, ICFO, Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques, Castelldefels (Barcelona), Spain

Featured talks
Lukas Novotny - Strong coupling and level crossing
Scott Carney - Deconstructing the Born series
Taco Visser- Geometric phases in Optic
Giovanni Volpe - New Frontiers of Laser Trapping
Gustavo Cancado - News from Brazil
Jan Gieseler- Optical trapping of aerosols
Brad Deutsch- The Chu limit and beyond
Giorgio Volpe- Optics and Photonics Focus
Jorge Zurita-Sanchez - (A) Optical response of a slab whose dielectric function varies periodically in time and (B) FRET impulse
Stefano Palomba - Optical negative refraction by four-wave mixing in metallic nanostructures
Mike Beversluis- Electromagnetic Sounding: Near-field Optics at VLF frequencies
Neil Anderson - New Innovations in Optical Filters & Potential Applications

Lukas NovotnyScott Carney
Taco VisserGiovanni Volpe
Gustavo Cancado Jan Gieseler
Jorge Zurita-Sanchez Giorgio Volpe
Brad Deutsch Stefano Palomba


We also had some "outside/outdoor fun", this year in the snow:

Hard to believe, but there are already FIVE doctores, that can blame Lukas for their title!!!!!
Mike Beversluis, Jorge Zurita-Sanchez, Filipp Ignatovich, John Lesoine, and Neil Anderson


And SEVEN more in the making!!!!!!!
Back row from left to right: Shawn Divitt, Brad Deutsch, Zack Lapin, Anirban Mitra, Ryan Beams, Steve Person, Palash Bharadwaj

See more pictures in the slideshow.